Marco Serafini - Homepage

COMPSCI 677 - Spring 20 (homepage)

Course schedule

Note: This schedule is subject to change.

Please note that homeworks (HW) assignments are individual whereas Lab assignments are for groups of two students.

Date Lecture Topic Assignment
Wed Jan 22 1 Introduction - slides Chapter 1
Mon Jan 27   No class  
Wed Jan 29 2 System Architectures - slides Chapter 2
Mon Feb 3 3 Processes and Threads - slides Chapter 3.1, 3.3-3.4, Guest lecture @ CS 150, 4 PM
Wed Feb 5 4 Multiprocessor and Distributed scheduling, Virtualization - slides Chapter 3, extra-1, extra-2
Mon Feb 10 5 Virtualization - slides Chapter 3.2, 3.4, Groups due, HW 1 assigned
Wed Feb 12 6 Process, Code, and VM Migration - slides Chapter 3.5, Lab 1 assigned
Mon Feb 17   President’s day. Class postponed to Feb 18  
Tue Feb 18 7 Communication in Distributed Systems - slides Chapter 4.1, 4.2, 8.3 HW 1 due
Wed Feb 19 8 Remote Method Invocation - slides Chapter 4, HW 2 assigned
Mon Feb 24 9 Message Queuing and Streaming Chapter 4
Wed Feb 26 10 Distributed Naming Chapter 5
Thu Feb 27     HW 2 due
Mon Mar 2 11 Clock Syncronization Chapter 6
Wed Mar 4 12 Logical and vector clocks, distributed snapshots Chapter 6, Lab 1 due, Lab 2 and HW 3 assigned
Mon Mar 9 13 Leader Election Chapter 7
Wed Mar 11 14 Distributed transactions Chapter 7
Mon Mar 16   Spring Break  
Wed Mar 18   Spring Break  
Mon Mar 23   No class  
Wed Mar 25 15 Recap class  
Thu Mar 26   Midterm 7:00-9:00 pm in Hasbrouck 0134  
Mon Mar 30 16 Consistency, CAP, Epidemic protocols Chapter 7, HW 3 due
Wed Apr 1 17 Consistency Implementation; Fault tolerance Chapter 7
Mon Apr 6 18 Byzantine Failures, Distributed commit, Paxos Chapter 11, Lab 2 due, Lab 3 assigned
Wed Apr 8 19 World Wide Web Chapter 11
Mon Apr 13 20 Distributed File Systems: NFS  
Wed Apr 15 21 Distributed File Systems: Coda, xFS, HDFS, GFS  
Mon Apr 20   Patriot’s Day. No class  
Wed Apr 22 22 Distributed Middleware  
Fri Apr 24     Lab 3 due
Mon Apr 27 23 Distributed Security, Bitcoin  
Wed Apr 29   Recap class  
Fri May 1   Take-home final exam, 9 am Due in 24 hours via GitHub classroom